Ingham Daily Press

Keeping People Connected

Awesome foursome crowned NQ surf life-saver champions

FORREST Beach’s young surf life-savers have been crowned the best in North Queensland.

The under-15 squad were named ‘Sports team of the year’ at the annual North Barrier Branch awards for their efforts over the 2019-2020 season.

Hinchinbrook’s junior relay side won gold at the North Australian and North Barrier Branch championships and got silver on home turf – or should that be home surf – at Forrest Beach.  

The four-some – made up of Dana Kaurila, Caleb Lahtinen, Corey Marshall and Troy Austin – have been competing together since they were 11, representing Forrest Beach and the North Barrier Branch at the State Youth Surf Life Saving Championships over the seasons.

This award tops off an outstanding nipper campaign, as the young athletes now transition into the senior ranks and competition.

Meanwhile, club carnival official Wayne Shailer was recognised for his outstanding contribution to the area of officiating, being named ‘Rookie official of the year’.

Wayne joined the club in 2017 and gained his bronze medallion a year later.

The volunteer is an active patrolling member of the club who has helped at carnivals and gained his officials accreditation.

Publicity officer Meliisa Hall said: ‘Forrest Beach Surf Club is proud of the contribution its members make to the club and congratulate the award recipients and other award nominees.’

The awards were held on-line for the first time due to the global health pandemic.

Story By

Subscribe To Receive Weekly News Updates